
• create their own forms as long as 
   they contain the required 
   information; or 
• use a copy of the W-4. 
 
New hire reports may be sent by mail to: 
 
Department of Revenue 
Child Support Services Division 

       New Hire Reporting Section, MS14 
550 W 7th Ave., Suite 310 
Anchorage, AK 99501-6699 
Fax (907) 787-3197 
      
   
 
• Computer disk, 
• CD or 
• magnetic tapes1 
 
MULTISTATE  EMPLOYERS 
 
Multistate employers have two reporting 
options. You may report newly hired 
employees to the state in which they are 
working or, all new-hires and re-hires 
may be reported to one state. If one 
state is chosen the Secretary of the 
Department of Health and Human 
Services2 must be notified of your 
 
1 Contact CSSD at (907) 269-6089 or toll 
free in Alaska at (877) 269-6685 for details. 
 
2 DHSS, Administration for Children and 
Families, Office of Child Support 
Enforcement, Multistate Employer 
Notification, P.O. Box 509, Randalls Town, 
MD 21133-0509 
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intent and the reporting must be 
submitted by magnetic tape or 
electronic transfer. 
 
MORE INFORMATION 
 
Are there penalties for failure to 
report? 
 
Alaska has chosen to focus on 
cooperation with employers and has 
reduced fines accordingly. An employer 
can be fined $10 for each instance of 
failure to report for each employee and 
$100 per employee if a conspiracy exists 
between the employer and the employee 
not to report. 
 
How is New Hire Reporting 
safeguarded? 
 
Safeguards are in place to protect the 
integrity and security of information, 
and to restrict access to it. 
 
More questions 
 
If you have questions or concerns over 
any part of New Hire Reporting please 
feel free to contact the State of 
Alaska, Department of Revenue, Child 
Support Services Division. Toll free in 
Alaska at (877) 269-6685. You may 
contact the New Hire Reporting 
Supervisor at (907) 269-6089. 
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What is New Hire Reporting? 
 
Alaska law requires all employers to 
report to the Child Support Services 
Division: 
 
• the name, 
• address and 
• social security number of all newly 
  hired or rehired employees. 
 
Reports must be sent within 20 days of 
the date of hire or rehire. 
 
What will be done with the new 
hire information? 
 
The information provided through New 
Hire Reporting will help us locate 
parents, establish and enforce child 
support orders, and ensure that Alaskan 
children receive fair and equitable 
financial support. Over time, this will 
result in millions of tax dollars saved in 
welfare costs. 
 
Isn't this information available 
through department of labor 
quarterly reporting? 
Yes it is. However the labor information 
has limited value because it takes 
several months for CSSD to receive it. 
New Hire Reporting data is more useful 
because it's current. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Will it be hard for employers to 
comply with the law? 
 
No. We have made the reporting process 
as easy as possible. New Hire reporting 
information can be found on the W-4. 
CSSD accepts reports by fax, mail, 
magnetic tape and electronic transfer. 
Employers can use our forms, create 
their own forms (as long as they contain 
the required information) or simply fax 
or mail CSSD a copy of the W-4. 
 
________________________________ 
 
Who must report? 
 
Any employer who completes a W-2 for 
employee wages is required to report. 
 
Who must be reported? 
 
Any person, full time or part-time, who 
receives a W-4 and performs service for 
wages should be included in New Hire 
Reporting. An employee should be 
reported again if he is rehired, or if a 
new W-4 form has to be completed. 
 
 
 
 
_________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What must be reported on each 
new hire report? 
 
New Hire Reporting should include these 
seven items found on the W-4 form: 
 
• Employee Name 
• Employee Address 
• Employee Social Security Number 
• Employer Name 
• Employer Address 
• Employer Federal ID Number 
• Employee Date of Hire
 
 
Other important information 
• Employee Date of Birth 
• Employer’s State ID Number 
• Health Insurance 
____________________________ 
 
When must reports be sent? 
 
New Hire Reports must be sent to CSSD 
within 20 days of the date of hire or rehire. 
 
How do I report? 
 
Employers can: 
• Use our form - contact us to obtain 
   it, or download it from our website    
www.childsupport.alaska.gov.publications/publications.
asp  
• Create your own form as long as it contain the 

required information; or 
• Use a copy of the W-4 
     

 


