MULTISTATE EMPLOYERS

Multistate employers have two reporting options. You may report newly hired employees to the state in which they are working or all new-hires and re-hires may be reported to one state. If one state is chosen, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHSS) must be notified of your point of Contact.

CSED contact info:

CSED (907) 269-6089 or toll free in Alaska at (877) 269-6685 for details.

DHSS contact info:

Administration for Children and Families, Office of Child Support Services, Multistate Employer Notification, 701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1510, Seattle, WA 98104 Phone: (206) 615-2547

Fax: (206) 615-2574

Are there penalties for failure to report?

Alaska has chosen to focus on cooperation with employers and has reduced fines accordingly. An employer can be fined \$10 for each instance of failure to report per employee and \$100 per employee if a conspiracy to not report exists between the employer and the employee.

<u>Is New Hire Reporting</u> <u>safeguarded?</u>

Yes. Safeguards are in place to protect the security and access to this information.



What will be done with the new hire information?

The information provided through New Hire Reporting will help us locate parents, establish and enforce child support orders, and ensure that Alaskan children receive fair and equitable financial support. Over time, this will result in millions of tax dollars saved in state assistance costs.

<u>Isn't this information available</u> <u>through Department of Labor</u> <u>quarterly reporting?</u>

Yes it is. However the labor information has limited value because it takes several months for CSED to receive it. New Hire Reporting data is critical, because it's current.

Will it be hard for employers to comply with the law?

No. CSED is making reporting easier than ever with our web based reporting program. You can now report directly by accessing the myAlaska website.

DID YOU KNOW?

Employers can make payments online!

The CSED Business Services Portal offers employers the convenience of paying child support payments online through a secure Internet website.

It's a free service at no cost to you. This service can be used by small and large employers.

To sign up go to: https://my.alaska.gov/

The link is located under **CSED**

Business Services Portal.

If you have any questions regarding online payments, please call our EFT Help Desk at (907) 269-6750.

More questions about employer reporting?

We have an Employer Hotline

The phone number is reserved for employers only. It is available for you to get answers to questions about new hire reporting or wage withholding.

In Anchorage: (907) 269-6089 Outside of Anchorage: (877) 269-6685

Find us at:

https://childsupport.alaska.gov

Alaska Child Support Enforcement Division (CSED)



Employer's Guide to New Hire Reporting

What is New Hire Reporting?

Alaska Law requires employers to report the following information on all newly hired or rehired employees to the Child Support Enforcement Division:

> Name Address Social Security number

When must reports be sent?

New Hire Reports must be sent to CSED within 20 days of the date of hire or rehire.

Who must report?

Any employer who completes a W-2 for employee wages is required to report.

Who must be reported?

Any person, full time or part-time, who receives a W-2 and performs service for wages, should be included in New Hire Reporting. An employee should be reported again if he is rehired, or if a new W-4 form has to be completed.

What must be reports on each new hire report?

New Hire Reporting should include these nine items found on the W-2 form:

- Employer Name
- Employer Address
- Employer Federal Tax Identification
- Employer Phone number
- Employee Name
- Employee Address
- Employee Social Security number
- Employee Date of Birth
- Employee Date of Hire/Rehire

Do I have to report independent contractors?

No, the State of Alaska CSED does not require employers to report independent contractors as new hires. Independent contractors are considered self-employed and therefore not an employee subject to reporting. However, their earnings are still subject to a child support withholding order, same as any employee.

How do I report?

AK CSED has a web-based New Hire Reporting, through the myAlaska Portal at https://myAlaska.state.ak.us

Web-Based New Hire Reporting

By using the web-based program, you as an employer will save time, resources and costs. No more time consuming faxes, making disks or postal costs. If you do not have a myAlaska account for your business, create one today go to:

- https://my.alaska.gov/
- Choose: Register for a myAlaska Account and follow the instructions
- Once complete go back and choose: Sign into myAlaska
- Click the <u>View Your Services</u>, scroll down and choose <u>CSED New Hire</u> <u>Submissions</u>-From here employers can report or upload their new hires directly to CSED.

For complete instructions on this process:

http://dor.alaska.gov/Portals/7/
Documents/
Employer New Hire Reporting User Instruction
s.pdf?ver=2019-05-13-160448-820

For Assistance:

In Anchorage: (907)269-6089

Outside of Anchorage: (877) 269-6685